Pages: 1

NewMameUser
MAME Fan
Reged: 05/26/19
Send PM

Unix: emulation in MAME ?
#382571 - 05/27/19 02:08 PM

Hi,

I'm new to MAME, but I have been told that it is capable of emulating the hardware that runs some old(-er) Unix versions/flavors, like for example SGI Irix and SunOS. Is this correct ? If so, is any other hardware that runs other Unix versions/flavors currently emulated in MAME ?

Also, I think I have all the right bits in place, but I am having a hard time trying to figure out the right commandline options (like what emulated machines and corresponding CHD's to specify for these Unix systems). It looks like you need to specify commandline options that look somewhat like this:

Code:

mame64.exe righthardware -hard1 installed-os.chd -cdrom1 install-cd.chd

But I can't figure out what to specify as 'righthardware' and 'installed-os.chd' for these Unix-flavor operating systems.

Any and all help or further information on the subject is greatly appreciated (even if that information is that I got it all wrong with Unix to begin with).

gregf
Ramtek's Trivia promoter
Reged: 09/21/03
Loc: southern CA, US
Send PM

Re: Unix: emulation in MAME? new [Re: NewMameUser]
#382573 - 05/27/19 06:38 PM

>like for example SGI Irix and SunOS. Is this correct? If so, is any other hardware that
>runs other Unix versions/flavors currently emulated in MAME?

Some of the answers will likely be over on Bannister's site https://forums.bannister.org/

In the SVN thread, there are old posts showing emulation progress of some SGI hardware, but still a ways to go.

https://forums.bannister.org/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=44666&page=526

Moogly's post gives some info of how long it takes to set up one of the OS for one of the SGI hardware.

--
MooglyGuy / Just Desserts

https://forums.bannister.org/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=115270#Post115270