View all threads Index   Threaded Mode Threaded  

Pages: 1

usmanov
MAME Fan
Reged: 05/09/13
Send PM

Is this true emulation or an issue?
#308873 - 05/18/13 03:19 PM

I'm very new to MAME and i'm trying to get the software working. Started playing a classic - Double Dragon.
I play for two minutes until the giant breaks through the wall, and suddenly everything is really slow.

Can't handle that big sprite or whatever?
My question. Is this the way the arcade was? Or is my emulation not set up properly.

It produces the same result on an old computer as well as on a new one. (Tested on a AMD Sempron 2800+ / Intel i5)

etabeta
Reged: 08/25/04
Send PM

Re: Is this true emulation or an issue? new [Re: usmanov]
#308874 - 05/18/13 03:24 PM

> I'm very new to MAME and i'm trying to get the software working. Started playing a
> classic - Double Dragon.
> I play for two minutes until the giant breaks through the wall, and suddenly
> everything is really slow.
>
> Can't handle that big sprite or whatever?
> My question. Is this the way the arcade was? Or is my emulation not set up properly.
>
> It produces the same result on an old computer as well as on a new one. (Tested on a
> AMD Sempron 2800+ / Intel i5)

it's the way the original technos pcb played: veeeeery slow when many characters were displayed at once
there is a bootleg which plays definitely better (I don't remember if it's ddragonb or ddragonba...)

grog
Reged: 09/06/11
Send PM

#308879 - 05/18/13 04:41 PM

> Is this the way the arcade was?

yea. if u want to make it run 'better' in mame, do the following:

1. enable cheats (set cheat 1 in mame.ini)
2. load double dragon in mame
3. enter mame confg menu (default key TAB)
4. go into the Slider Controls menu
5. where it says Overclock CPU: maincpu and Overclock CPU: sub, set them both to 200%
6. slowdown is now very noticeably reduced when there are lots of enemies on the screen

jumpmaniac81
Donkey Kong Maniac
Reged: 10/13/10
Loc: N.J.
Send PM