Pages: 1

pmindemann
MAME Fan
Reged: 08/15/12
Loc: Lancaster, PA
Send PM

Now, this one has me stumped.
#293881 - 08/15/12 08:44 PM

Hello all... new to the forum, but not to MAME. My first cabinet (that I built for my co-workers), has a full MAME set, runs Hyperspin as the FE (with all videos and themes), has a built-in audio amplifier and dual, powered subwoofers in the base. It looks like this:

Now that you know I'm not a complete noob (wink), I wanted to ask for some help with something that has stumped me recently. I've installed MAME version 146 on four computers now, but on the last one (a small, low-power nettop), I'm getting a "DIFF CHD ERROR: File Not Found" code on ONLY my games that require CHD files (all other games play fine):

Followed by "ERROR: Required files are missing, the game cannot be run." message:

Now, here's the thing. I've tried everything I could find online (yes, Google is my friend), as well as several other tricks, and nothing has allowed CHD games to play. Here's what I've tried:

• I have re-installed MAME.
  • I have copied MAME over from another computer that runs these games perfectly.
  • I have copied the CHD and zip files of these games from another computer that runs these games perfectly.
  • I've removed the contents of the DIFF folder (though on my most recent re-install of MAME from the MAME downloads site, I don't have a DIFF folder).
  • I have used both ROM and CHD files that are compatible with build 146, as evidenced by the fact that I have three other machines using these exact same files just fine (and they also come from a reputable source who updates files regularly and has never given me a bad dump).
  • My computer is a brand-new build, with nothing but Win7 64-bit installed (no other apps except what came with the machine, Chrome, XPadder, Hyperspin and MAME).
  • I have no other issues with my PC, Hyperspin or MAME. All other games run fine.