MAMEWorld >> EmuChat
View all threads Index   Threaded Mode Threaded  

Pages: 1

tamalmalamarrado
MAME Fan
Reged: 06/10/07
Send PM

MAME suggestion
#237694 - 10/30/10 04:50 AM Attachment: MAME.png 382 KB (2 downloads)

Hi, i have a suggestion for mame, maybe it's stupid and hard to implement, but well, i don't lost anything posting that, this picture speaks by them self. Yea, a little 3D effect in the screen as if we are playing a REAL arcade, maybe it's only possible in Windows with D3D, but i don't know, i'm not a good programmer.

[ATTACHED IMAGE - CLICK FOR FULL SIZE]

Attachment

GatKong
Tetris Mason
Reged: 04/20/07
Loc: Sector 9
Send PM

Re: MAME suggestion new [Re: tamalmalamarrado]
#237695 - 10/30/10 04:58 AM

What you describe can be done with a front-end.

You could also make your own custom artwork in the bezel art section to create the same effect.

DMala
Sleep is overrated
Reged: 05/09/05
Loc: Waltham, MA
Send PM

#237697 - 10/30/10 05:58 AM

> Hi, i have a suggestion for mame, maybe it's stupid and hard to implement, but well,
> i don't lost anything posting that, this picture speaks by them self. Yea, a little
> 3D effect in the screen as if we are playing a REAL arcade, maybe it's only possible
> in Windows with D3D, but i don't know, i'm not a good programmer.

Meh, not for me. The last thing I want is more wasted screen space, until the actual game is a little postage stamp in the middle of the screen. I usually don't even turn bezels on for that reason.

SmitdoggAdministrator
Reged: 09/18/03
Send PM

#237698 - 10/30/10 06:30 AM

It was done years ago in Stretchmame so you could grab an old version of that and do it on games that have been supported for years. It's pretty useless to me, doesn't look authentic, on a real arcade machine you move around and can tilt your head etc. Anyway I wouldn't care if it was added as an option but would never use it. Ditto for the fishbowl stuff.

yoeddy
Sound perfectionist
Reged: 12/27/03
Loc: Boise, Idaho