MAMEWorld >> Hardware
View all threads Index   Threaded Mode Threaded  

Pages: 1

MKFAN
MAME Fan
Reged: 07/12/13
Send PM

Will the new Intel CPU be good due to the P cores and the E cores ?
#392462 - 11/06/21 03:57 AM

So I'd like to upgrade my PC to the new Intel CPU that just out and I'm still using WIN 10 and will be for a while. The reviews say that the single core is really great. So my question is if I'm running Mame do you think there might be a problem where Windows makes Mame use the E cores instead of the P cores ? I'm wondering if that could be a problem.

kirby
Apple MacBook Pro M1 & Nintendo addict
Reged: 11/03/21
Loc: Spain
Send PM

Re: Will the new Intel CPU be good due to the P cores and the E cores ? new [Re: MKFAN]
#392517 - 11/10/21 04:22 AM

I saw a recent video where david haywood explains the number of cores of a cpu doesn't matter for mame at all.
It's the speed of a single core that matters since all is done by one single core in mame.

I'm not an expert but I can tell I noticed this on my Mac.

I now have a MacBook Pro M1 Max while in the past I had a desktop Mac. The current MacBook has 10 cores and when running mame you can look at the cpu workload and ... Only 1 core (sometimes a 2nd) is used while all the time 9 cores do nothing at all.

I don't know about windows but Mac OS allocates a process intelligent across cores. You'll have to search if you can allocate mame to the core you want.
But i think it will not matter much since cpu cores are mostly clones of each other.

MKFAN
MAME Fan
Send PM

Re: Will the new Intel CPU be good due to the P cores and the E cores ? new [Re: kirby]
#392580 - 11/11/21 03:34 AM

"I saw a recent video where david haywood explains the number of cores of a cpu doesn't matter for mame at all.
It's the speed of a single core that matters since all is done by one single core in mame."